Anna Bartlett Warner

31 August 1827–22 January 1915


Anna Bartlett Warner, daughter of Henry W. Warner and sister of Susan Warner (1819–1895), the authoress, was born in [1827] at Martlaer, West Point, New York. She is the author of some fifteen or twenty volumes. She edited Hymns of the Church Militant, 1858. Her first volume, Say and Seal, [1860], prepared in association with her sister, contained one of the most popular hymns for young people ever written in America, beginning, “Jesus loves me, this I know / For the Bible tells me so.” In 1869, she published Wayfaring Hymns, Original and Translated. The titles of her successive volumes (most of which have been published under the pen name of “Amy Lothrop”) may be found in any biography of American authors. She resides at Martlaer’s Rock, West Point, N.Y.

The Hymns and Hymn Writers of the Church (1911)
ed. Charles Nutter & Wilbur Fisk Tillett

Anna Bartlett Warner, from Susan Warner (New York: G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 1909).

Featured Hymns:

Jesus loves me, this I know

Publications with Hymns:

Hymns of the Church Militant (1858): PDF

Say and Seal (1860)

Volume 1: PDF
Volume 2: PDF (includes “Jesus loves me”)

Ellen Montgomery’s Bookshelf (1866): PDF (includes “O little child, lie still and sleep”)

Wayfaring Hymns (1869): PDF

Related Resources:

Frederick M. Bird, “Anna Warner,” John Julian, ed. A Dictionary of Hymnology (London: J. Murray, 1892), p. 1234: Google Books

Anna Bartlett Warner, Susan Warner (“Elizabeth Wetherell”) (New York: G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 1909): WorldCat

“Anna Bartlett Warner,” The Hymns and Hymn Writers of the Church: An Annotated Edition of the Methodist Hymnal (NY: Eaton & Mains, 1911), p. 442:

Olivia Stokes, Letters and Memories of Susan and Anna Bartlett Warner (NY: G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 1925): WorldCat

Mabel Baker, Light in the Morning: Memories of Susan and Anna Warner (West Point, N.Y.: Constitution Island Association Press, 1978): WorldCat

Anna Bartlett Warner,

J.R. Watson, “Anna Bartlett Warner,” Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology: